WORLD EUROPE CROATIA DUBROVNIK

Destination: 


Dubrovnik, Croatia Hotels and City Guide

Dubrovnik Hotels and Dubrovnik Guide with Dubrovnik maps, top attractions, room reservations and hotel deals at a wide range of the best Dubrovnik hotels

Dubrovnik - Attractions


Cable Car and Mount Srd

Cable Car
Frana Supila 35a, Ploce
Open: Daily from 09.00-21.00
Tel: 020 414355
Fare: Return fare adults: 73 kn, one-way 44 kn; children 4-12 half price

The new cable car began running in July 2010, the old one having been destroyed during the 1991-1995 war. Two cable cars holding 30 people each operate throughout the day.

Spectacular views of the Old Town and the Elafiti Islands from the cable car make the 3-minute ride a most memorable event. The lower station is in Ploce, a 5-minute walk from the Old Town. At Ploce Gate turn left and after the parking area climb the stairs leading to the station where tickets are bought. The upper station is on Mount Srd, 412m above sea level. At the upper station there is a viewing platform with telescopes, a souvenir shop, café and restaurant. If you are feeling energetic, take a one-way ticket to the upper station and walk down along the well-defined footpath.

The sunsets from Mount Srd are sensational. Drink in the breathtaking views while keeping an eye out for dolphins round the Elafiti Islands.

Imperial Fortress
Open: Daily 10.00-21.30

Whilst on Mount Srd visit the museum exhibiting photographs, documents, war diaries, weapons and militaria from Croatia’s war of independence. There is much to see for military aficionadas.


The City Walls

Nearly 2kms long surrounding the old port and ancient town nestled below, it consists of five bastions and 15 towers offering a bird’s eye view of Dubrovnik, the rugged coastline of the Adriatic Sea, Srd Mountain and the surrounding suburbs of Dubrovnik. It is hard to comprehend how these thick walls were constructed in the Middle Ages and still survive intact.

During Croatia’s war of independence from Yugoslavia, Dubrovnik was besieged by Serb-Montenegrin forces between November 1991 and May 1992 in an attempt to claim it for Montenegro. During heavy shelling from the hills behind the Old Town, 114 civilians were killed, many rooftops were destroyed and ancient medieval, gothic, renaissance and baroque buildings were damaged. Through a UNESCO initiative, the buildings were restored and rooftops repaired. Looking down on the Old Town from the walls, Dubrovnik resembles an enormous patchwork quilt of terracotta tiles, the undamaged older ones in pretty shades of faded pink, yellow and green from the lichens and moss growing on them, contrasting with the bright red newer red tiles.

Editor's Tip: Climb the steps near Ploce Gate on the eastern side of the city rather than Pile Gate on the western side, as they are less steep.

Minceta Fortress
The largest tower and the highest point in the northwestern walls, Minceta Fortress has dominated the city for centuries and is a symbol of Dubrovnik, the unconquerable city. The original smaller quadrilateral fort, the work of Nicifor Ranjina, was completed in 1319.The present round tower with its crown was constructed around the square walls by the famous renaissance architect, Michelozzo de Bartolomeo of Florence who built the 6m-thick walls, including gun ports. This work was continued by Juraj Dalmatinac, a Croatian renaissance master, and completed in 1464.

Fortress of the Passing Bell
The Fortress of the Passing Bell includes the round fortress of the southern wing designed by Paskoje Milicevic, the city engineer. Its gun ports protected the city from a possible sea attack. Its name derives from the nearby St Peter’s Church which tolled its bells when citizens died.

Fortress of St John
The Fortress of St John (known as Mulo Tower) on the southeastern side of the old city port with many gun ports was built in the mid-14thC and modified several times during the 15thC and 16thC to control and protect the entrance to the old port. Today it is home to the Maritime Museum and the Aquarium.

Fortress of St Luke
The Fortress of St Luke was built in the 14thC to protect the opposite side of the old port. Paskoje Milicevic designed the round bastion and the breakwater.

Revelin Fortress
Revelin Fortress, a large detached fortification, was built by Antonio Ferramolino in the east of the city in 1462 as extra protection guarding the land approach at Ploce Gate from the Turkish danger and the threat of a Venetian assault. One side descends towards the sea protected by a deep moat on the other side. A bridge crosses the moat connecting it to Ploce Gate, while another connects it to the eastern suburbs. Revelin Fortress suffered no damage during the devastating earthquake of 1667. Many treasures were transferred here, saving them from the fires following the earthquake. As it consists of three large vaulted rooms, it became the administrative centre of the Republic. The huge stone terrace atop the fortress becomes a stage during the Summer Festival.

Bokar Tower
This is the loveliest part of the fortifications, built from 1461-1463 to the plans of Michelozzo. Its purpose was to defend Pile Gate and thus the western land approach to the city. Notice the fine stone wreaths.


The Fort of Lovrijenac (St Lawrence)

This enormous detached fortress outside the city walls was built on a sheer cliff 37m-high overlooking the sea to defend the western land approach and any threat from the sea. Its longest wall faces Bokar Tower and the western wall. There is a huge courtyard with parapets and ten large cannons. The walls vulnerable to attack are 12m wide. It has three terraces, used as a dramatic setting for Shakespeare’s ‘Hamlet’ performed each year at the Summer Festival.


Sightseeing and Attractions Inside Croatia's Old Town

Pile Gate
The main gate at the western entrance to the Old Town, Pile Gate, was built in the 16thC. It consists of a stone bridge between two gothic arches and a wooden drawbridge suspended by chains across a moat. St Blasius, patron saint of Dubrovnik, is portrayed above the renaissance arch in the semi-circular outer tower. During the summer costumed guards re-enact the drawing up of the bridge.

Church of the Saviour
Tucked in between the Pile Gate and the Franciscan Monastery immediately to the left at the foot of the steep steps to the ramparts is the beautiful small renaissance Church of the Saviour. Completed in 1528, it sustained no damage during the 1667 earthquake and remains one of the city’s many gems.

Great Onofrio’s Fountain
In the square opposite the Church of the Saviour is Great Onofrio’s Fountain built in 1438 by the Italian builder Onofrio della Cava who was commissioned to construct the urban viaduct. Instead of building large cisterns for rain water, Onofrio tapped a well 12km away. He made water available to the city from a fountain at this reservoir near Pile Gate, as well as a smaller one in Luza Square to supply the marketplace. Other fountains included one at the fishmarket, in the port, at the Rector’s Palace and in the Franciscan Monastery’s cloister. A separate fountain was built for the Jewish community.

Convent of St Claire
This lovely old building, once a convent, is tucked under the city walls next to the Great Onofrio Fountain near Pile Gate. It was built during the late 13thC-early 14tthC. Have lunch in its serene courtyard.

Franciscan Monastery
Next to the Church of the Saviour is the large complex of the Franciscan Monastery. The lateral wall of the church runs alongside the Placa while the monastery grounds stretch along the city walls to Minceta Tower. The building was begun in 1317 but has been rebuilt several times over the centuries due to damage from the earthquake. The portal on the south wall is the only remaining part of the original monastery. It was the work of brothers Leonard and Petar Petrobvic dating from the 15thC, featuring St Jerome and St John the Baptist above the door posts, the pièta in the centre, with God the Creator above.

Do visit the tranquil Romanesque cloisters, a veritable oasis in this built-up little city.
The third oldest pharmacy in the world, founded by the monks in 1317 and still functioning today, is found inside the monastery, as is a rich library containing over 20,000 books including valuable manuscripts.

The Renaissance Hall is home to liturgical items, paintings by old masters, precious works of gold and rare books. Musical concerts take place here during the Dubrovnik Summer Festival and at other times of the year.

Synagogue
Situated in Zudioska Street off the eastern end of the Placa, the synagogue was built in 1546 and is still occasionally used. The Jews lived in this area when they came to Dubrovnik from Spain. It was badly damaged by the earthquake of 1667. A museum was opened on the first floor in 2003 depicting the history of the building and the Dubrovnik Jews, Judaic artefacts and a list of Jews who died in the Second World War. The synagogue itself, with its blue ceiling and frescoes is on the second floor.

St. Nicholas Church
Situated at the end of narrow Prijeko Street which runs parallel to the Placa and near the Synagogue, this small pre-Romanesque style church was built in the 11th C. Notice the interesting stonework.

Dominican Monastery
At the northeastern end of the Old Town, the Dominican Monastery stands snugly under the city walls with added protection from Fort Revelin. It was constructed from the 14 th-16 th centuries. Architectural styles include Romanesque, baroque, gothic and renaissance. Its plain exterior belies the beauty within. Peaceful cloisters boast impressive trifora arches, while a stone well in the courtyard is a work of great beauty. The museum contains priceless paintings including the work of 15 th-16th century Dubrovnik artists and the altarpiece of St Magdalene by Titian and a collection of precious gold and silver artefacts. The library preserves numerous illuminated manuscripts, documents and over 220 incunabula.

The monastery church is a venue for chamber music concerts during the Summer Festival, its acoustics and setting providing an unforgettable experience.

Luza Square
This charming square is where many of Dubrovnik’s finest buildings are located.

Church of St Blasius
The grandiose baroque church in Luza Square at the end of the Placa, was built in 1715. On its high altar stands a Gothic gilt silver statue of Dubrovnik’s patron saint holding a scale model of Dubrovnik before the earthquake, the only surviving statue after the fire, proving its miracle power.

Roland’s Column
The opening ceremony of the Summer Festival takes place in front of the Church of St Blasius at Roland’s Column where the Republic’s flag is raised honouring this legendary medieval knight on the gothic statue dating from 1418.

Sponza Palace
The handsome Sponza Palace dates from 1516. Its arcaded frontage is a mixture of gothic and renaissance architecture designed by Paskoje Milicevic. It was once the customs house and the seat of many government departments and also served as the arsenal and the mint. It survived the earthquake unscathed, resulting in the government being able to continue its work. Today it is home to the Archives containing a wealth of documents from 1022. Its courtyard is one of the Summer Festival’s venues.

Bell Tower
Next to Sponza Palace and Ploce Gate stands the 31m Bell Tower erected in 1444. Copies of the original two bronze statues strike the hour, the originals having been moved to Sponza Palace.

Town Hall
Formerly the Palace of the Major Council which was totally destroyed by fire in 1816, the Town Hall was rebuilt in neo-gothic style in 1882. It is the administrative centre of the city and is also home to a theatre.

House of the Main Guard
This gothic building next to the Town Hall was the former residence of the commander of the armed forces. Notice the enormous baroque door built between 1706-1708.

The Rector’s Palace
The magnificent Rector’s Palace with particularly beautiful windows, is a compote of gothic, renaissance and baroque styles, having been reconstructed many times during its stormy past. It was rebuilt by Onofrio della Cava after the fire of 1435 totally destroyed the original building. The pillars of the vaulted front loggia are topped with renaissance capitals sculpted by Pietro de Martino. The Rector and officials sat on the row of two-tiered stone seating lining the back of the porch on ceremonial occasions.

After earthquake damage, the southern front was rebuilt in baroque style. A baroque staircase in the elegant atrium was built at the same time and a bell was set up on the first floor connected to a clock below that struck the hours. Today the Rector’s Palace is a museum showcasing furniture from the past, old masters paintings, copies of historical documents, coins and the original keys to the city gates.

Dulčić Masle Pulitika Gallery
Ronald Brown Memorial House, next to the Rector’s Palace
Open: Daily 10.00-20.00, Closed: Mondays
Part of the Museum of Modern Art, this small gallery showcases the bright contemporary works of the three Croatian artists of its title.

The Cathedral
Designed by Roman architect Andrea Buffalini in 1671, the baroque cathedral consists of three aisles and a cupola. Corinthian columns adorn the top of the steps leading to the main door while on the upper floor there is a triangular gable over a baroque window with stone statues of saints on the balustrades. The soaring interior is unadorned, except for the ornate altar of St John Nepomuk. Graceful colonnades separate the aisles from the nave.

GundulicSquare
This charming square to the west of the cathedral is the site of a bustling farmers’ market by day, and a stage during the Summer Festival by night. A monument to the poet Gundulic dominates the square.

The Church of St Ignatius
Climb the great baroque flight of steps, reminiscent of the Spanish Steps in Rome, from the south side of Gundulic Square to Ruder Bosksovic Square where the glorious Church of St Ignatius and the Jesuit College are found. The ornate, single nave church was designed by the Jesuit architect Andea Pozzo and was completed in 1725. Its glowing frescoes by Gaetano Garcia of Spain alone are worth a visit.

The old Jesuit College dating from the first half of the 16 thC abuts the church and is now a school, its basketball court an incongruous sight.

Rupe Granary
The Rupe (pits) granary is to the west of the Jesuit College in the oldest part of the city. Fifteen deep cisterns were dug into the rock for grain storage in times of siege and famine. This attractive building, built between 1542 and 1590, now houses the Ethnographic Museum.

Museum of Modern Art
Frana Supila Way
Open: Daily 10.00-20.00, Closed: Mondays
Admission: Scholars and children free

Outside the walls in Frana Supila Way east of Ploce, the Museum of Modern Art is located in a stylish villa built between the two world wars, the design inspired by the splendid renaissance and gothic summer villas of the former wealthy patricians. The collection consists of 2,500 works of art, including paintings from the 19th and 20th centuries as well as a vast selection of contemporary works, photographs and videos exhibited in airy galleries with clean lines. Don’t miss the sculptures on the terrace.





Hotels in Dubrovnik, Croatia

Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik hotel

Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik hotel

Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Take in spectacular views of historic Dubrovnik and the Adriatic from the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik hotel. Dine out on the restaurant's terrace or relax by the sunlit indoor pool. Dubrovnik's Old Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is just 110 yards away. Take the whole...




BOOK NOW
Hotel More

Hotel More

K. Stepinca 33 20000 Dubrovnik Croatia

Location:- Hotel is located on the peninsula Lapad in Bay of Lapad, surrounded by rich Mediterranean vegetation close to the sea- Only 3 km away from the old city of Dubrovnik- Pedestrian walkway which runs the length...




BOOK NOW


Top Destinations

New York 08:57 -8C
Tokyo 22:57 6C
Hong Kong 21:57 16C
Paris 14:57 1C
London 13:57 -0C

Search Destinations & Hotels

Win with World Executive!

Sign up for our newsletter & you could win $20 Amazon.com vouchers!

Follow WorldExecutive on Twitter