WORLD ASIA PACIFIC BANGLADESH DHAKA

Destination: 


Dhaka, Bangladesh Hotels and City Guide

Dhaka Hotels and Dhaka Guide with Dhaka maps, top attractions, room reservations and hotel deals at a wide range of the best Dhaka hotels

Dhaka - Transportation

Dhaka Transportation

By Road

Taxis and buses are the most popular ways to travel and see the sights and sounds of the city, with fares being amongst the cheapest in the world. Express and non-stop services are available to principal towns from Gabtoli, Saidabad and Mohakhai bus terminals in Dhaka. The Bangladesh Road Transport Corporation (BRTC) also maintains a countrywide network of bus services. The bus services have also introduced a special Dhaka-Calcutta-Dhaka direct daily bus service via Benapole, Jessore. Road construction is often hindered in Bangladesh due to the numerous rivers and their marked seasonal fluctuation in width and depth.

By Rail

An efficient railway network connects Dhaka to most major towns in Bangladesh and the rates are inexpensive. Railway expansion and development work is often restricted and limited due to the annual flooding caused by the overflow of surrounding rivers.

By Boat

Bangladesh is enriched by 250 rivers – thus providing over 5000 miles of navigable waterways. Country-made boats are the most widely used transportation mode that carries passengers and merchandise. The Bangladesh Inland Water Transport Corporation (BIWTC) operates ferry and launch services on the main routes. There are also water transport services run by private companies. Inland waterways carry much of the country's domestic freight and passenger traffic. The commercially operated routes are cut in half during the dry season.

By Air

Biman Bangladesh Airlines provides international and domestic air services. The main international airport is at Dhaka. Biman Bangladesh airlines is the national air service authority that connects Dhaka, Chittagong and Sylhet with 28 major cities around the world. International carriers like British Airways, Thai Airways, Saudia, Kuwait Airways, Singapore Airlines, PIA, Cathy Pacific, Indian Airlines, Emirates, Gulf Air, Aeroflot, Myanmar Airways, Royal Nepal Airlines, Uzbek Airways, Qatar Airways, Oman Air and Malaysian Airlines fly to and from Dhaka daily. Biman Bangladesh airlines also operate domestic route services. Presently, private sector airlines are also operating along domestic routes.

Car Rental

Renting a car is a highly recommended mode of transportation for travellers wishing to capture the essence of this great city. Whether on a high-powered business trip or on a delightful Dhaka vacation, a rented car is the most practical solution. The Bangladesh Parjatan Corporation (BPC), a government organisation, has a fleet of air-conditioned and non air-conditioned cars, microbuses and jeeps. They also offer transfer services for tourists between the Dhaka - Zia International Airport and main city points or hotels.





Hotels in Dhaka, Bangladesh

Best Western La Vinci Hotel

Best Western La Vinci Hotel

54, Kawran Bazar, Dhaka, 1215, Bangladesh

Complimentary full breakfast Airport courtesy pickup Complimentary newspaper La Villa Restaurant and lobby restaurant Coffee shop and lounge Roof Top Bar Catering staff Gift shop Exercise with weight machines Hot...




BOOK NOW


Top Destinations

New York 19:26 16C
Tokyo 08:26 24C
Hong Kong 07:26 29C
Paris 01:26 16C
London 00:26 14C

Search Destinations & Hotels

Win with World Executive!

Sign up for our newsletter & you could win $20 Amazon.com vouchers!

Follow WorldExecutive on Twitter